Special Forum for Young Professionals


Australia-China Conference on Science, Technology and Innovation


Young Professionals Forum


Forum Chair: Dr. Kaiming Bi, Curtin

Co-Chair: Mrs. Yibo Yang, Murdoch


February 2, 2017, Perth, Australia


 February 2, 2017, Saturday


13:30 – 14:00     Registration  

West Farmer’s Theatre,



Business School

14:00 – 14:30 Opening Speeches


·    Prof. Ma, chair, WACSA


·    Prof. Iain Watt, Pro Vice-chancellor (International), UWA


·    Ms Rebecca Ball, Executive Director, Office of Multicultural Interests, Department of Local Government and Communities


·    Ms Fiona Roche, Executive Director, Office of Science, Department of the Premier and Cabinet


14:30 – 15:20 Keynote Speeches


·    Keynote Speaker 1: Prof. Yinong Liu, School of Mechanical and Chemical Engineering, UWA

“Can we build a ladder to the moon: A materials story”


·    Keynote Speaker 2: Dr. Ting Zhang, Managing Director, Osen Group Pty Ltd.

“10 years professional journal and experience at Western Australia”


·    Keynote Speaker 3: Associate Prof. Ryan Loxton, School of Science, Curtin

“Mathematical optimization with applications to mining and oil and gas”

15:30 – 15:30    Award Granting Session
15:30 – 16:00    Coffee Break
16:00 – 17:20 Presentations by award winners


·    Distinguished Early Career Researcher Award winners


·    Best Paper Award winners


17:20 – 17:30    Introduction to Talent Recruitment Policies

Sun Jiaxiang, Deputy director, Jiangsu Academy of Agricultural   Sciences

17:30 – 18:30    Refreshment and networking